First Tenured Women

Thumbnail for First Tenured Women timeline

In 2011, in commemoration of Harvard’s 375th birthday, the Office of Faculty Development & Diversity worked with colleagues across the University to identify—for what is believed to be the first time—the first five women in each School to receive tenure.  (Dr. Alice Hamilton, the first female faculty member of Harvard, was never tenured.)

Schools are ordered by the tenure date of their first woman Professor. The timeline also presents a full accounting of all the tenured women, to 2016, holding major leadership roles as University Professor, Dean, or President.

View Timeline (PDF)